Either Death or Adulthood, Which God is Speaking

In the dream I am floating down

river with my father. He hooks

one arm around me. He thinks

I am small. The sun breathes

with the water. We are swan-

devils, barely not drown-

ing together, our bodies given

into the other, he asks for

 

a kiss. In the dream I do not

want to let go. I let him, no

he lets me, lifts one arm

to the sun, devilishly,

snakes a prayer then lets

me go. I am not small or

holy, just floating, one

body before the break.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Either Death or Adulthood, Which God is Speaking

  1. melissa mccarter

    I finally got around to visiting. I love your work! What an amazing voice.

Leave a Reply

