Francine Grows Her Shadow-Man by Feeding Him Light

Francine knows the shadow is slow to wake.

 

I understand the man inside me like a light. I wait hiding under a stone, she writes. He’s afraid of my face.

 

At night, Francine opens her chest and plant words there, or flowers, if the feelings right.

 

When the real one comes I will let him see my bones. But only in my dreams, she writes, for that is when we undress.

 

Francine knows the shadow of her man lives inside her as a creek. Slow to wake. But when he does, she writes, the stones will open their stem-eyes and grow.

 

Francine knows the power of how to wait.

 

I will let him see my bones.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

