National Poetry Month!

So, here it is again, National Poetry Month. Each year, I try to write a poem or at least poetic prose musings each day for the month of April (as if I don’t try to do that the other months of the year)! However, National Poetry Month to me means trying really hard to display the attempts to the World instead of just scribbling away in my journal or telling myself something is worthless and throwing it away. Aside from my own attempts, I think I’ll link a poem I happen to stumble upon or love, written by another, and share it with you.

This years Poetry Month will be especially challenging, seeing as I’m busy packing and preparing to move across the country (in which part of the move is a long road trip). But I suppose this challenge couldn’t have come at a better time, seeing as my life, chaotic as it is at this time, has kept me from my writing desk more than I’d like. It will be interesting to see what this literal move will do to my writing brain. Perhaps the literal change in scenery will do me a world of good. OK, so I’m ready to MAKE IT NEW!

My first poem for the month of April will be from my ever-ongoing Rilke series in which I challenged myself a year ago to write a 14 lined poem prompted by the first line of each poem from Rilke’s Book of Hours. I’ve abandoned and returned to this project many times.

52.

My life adorns itself no differently
Than the mountain, her arched
Back to You. In terror—tear her,

Santiago said, pine-root until
the Mare hears to you,
Tongue-speak toward death.

I hear Santiago, Mary praying
on his back, on our mountain,
Ask God–Where is life
Going. In circles. I want,

Guapa, to give you love,
Nothing, her eye. I,
a child, adorned
grief for Your Light.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

