Before we met, while courting

Before we met, while courting
On the phone, you called, talked,
A boy excited about his toy
And I, stoned, wondered
If I could break through words,
Conversation couldn’t unfold–
You must have known my doubt,
Called back to tell me how you went out
For a cigarette in the back, and a doe,
Surprised, her body on the ice–
The rink you made earlier that day–
She stared through you and me
Both, into our spiritual, to say:

He noticed me. This is the one.
You are the blessed. Love
each other.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

