Dear God, somtimes I feel like sunshine but it hurts

Dear God, sometimes I feel like a submarine in a bath

Where the water has no end and my ears

Will burst because the weight of one drop

Can sink me to the bottom. Help me.

*

Dear God, someone said the roots are the beginning

Of the tree but I thought it was the acorn or maybe

It’s before that. Way before. When I’m walking to school

I can hear mothers growing somewhere babies

all over searching and maybe You’re the seed

So I’m sorry I crunch Your first breaths at recess.

Am I helping things grow by breaking You open?

*

Dear God, sometimes I feel like sunshine but it hurts

When the rain comes and birds complain

I didn’t touch their berries dry.

*

Dear God, thank you for telling me not to be

Afraid of windows. Last week I saw myself

Inside one. I thought it wasn’t me. It made me

feel better I’m a girl not glass.

*

Dear God, I’m glad I’m not an ant.

I don’t think ants live longer than 6 minutes

So thank you!

*

Dear God, when you want to talk to me

I will listen just let me know by making a bird

Fly by when I walk to school or I will sing

And something will answer back. A bell ringing

I’ll make up words and tap my knee. A secret

Between us OK? I feel left out of the noises

You make. I can be loud. Or quiet. Tell me soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

